Nagios Monitoring 3 Server

Everything else...

Nagios Monitoring 3 Server

Postby marko weber » Sun Jun 07, 2009 22:25

Hi There,
sorry, i dont get thru the nconf at all.

On Server A i have Nagios running.
On Server B NRPE
On Server C NRPE

Do i have to some special confuring, to Monitor with Server A , the Server B & C ?
And how do i create the config(s) with nconf? Is that possible to do that?
Do i have to run Nagios on Server A,B and C or only on Server A and on Server B and C only NRPE ?

any one can help me `?

thank you

marko
marko weber
 

Re: Nagios Monitoring 3 Server

Postby agargiulo » Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:31

Hi.

You only need to run Nagios on server A. On servers B + C you must install NRPE. Nagios will then connect to servers B + C on port 5666 and execute your checks locally. The check results will be sent back to the Nagios server. Please refer to the official NRPE documentation on how to set this up.

To use NRPE in NConf you simply need to add new checkcommands for your NRPE checks and make the path point to your NRPE scripts/plugins. Name your checkcommands accordingly (e.g. "NRPE_Load") so that you can discern them from other checks like SNMP checks.
Finally add a new service to your host and select the NRPE checkcommand you've added.

Regards, Angelo
User avatar
agargiulo
NConf developer
NConf developer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 17:50
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Nagios Monitoring 3 Server

Postby marko weber » Fri Jun 12, 2009 17:42

Hi agargiulo,

sorry to ask, i dont get thru. NRPE u say habe only to be installed on Server B+C ?
I have really no idead how to create the checkcommand.
Do i have to install NRPE on SERVER A also and point in the check_command to $USER1$/nrpe_check ?
marko weber
 

Re: Nagios Monitoring 3 Server

Postby agargiulo » Fri Jun 12, 2009 17:57

I'm not an NRPE expert. I suppose you must have a part of NRPE on server A and another part on servers B + C for sure.
On server A you need to have the plugins /scripts that are needed to poll the other servers.

The checkcommand line would look somewhat like this:

$USER1$/check_nrpe -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -p 5666 -t 20 -c $ARG1$...

$ARG1$ = the name of the check that you want to execute remotely
User avatar
agargiulo
NConf developer
NConf developer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 17:50
Location: Zurich, Switzerland


Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron