newbie - can't get started adding stuff

Support requests, bug reports, questions etc.
Locked
adajun
starter
starter
Posts:4
Joined:Fri May 22, 2009 18:59
newbie - can't get started adding stuff

Post by adajun » Fri May 22, 2009 19:14

Hi,
this looks like a very promising project, thanks for the great work!

I was able to install without any issues, but when I try to add anything, I don't get a form dialog box that allows me to enter data?
Untitled.gif
Untitled.gif (3.84KiB)Viewed 4139 times
I can connect to the database with the user I created and see 2 tables in the database. There are no errors in the apache log.


thanks

adam

adajun
starter
starter
Posts:4
Joined:Fri May 22, 2009 18:59

Re: newbie - can't get started adding stuff

Post by adajun » Fri May 22, 2009 20:10

I do notice that if I click show or add attributes, I get a form to add and an error on show.
Untitled2.gif
Untitled2.gif (6.83KiB)Viewed 4127 times
Also, when I select show history, I get this error
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /usr/local/chs-nagios01/nconf/history.php on line 67

also, is there somewhere in the documentation that tells how to configure with nconf? I'm a little fuzzy on what a class and attribute are.

thanks

adam

User avatar
fgander
NConf developer
NConf developer
Posts:308
Joined:Mon Mar 16, 2009 14:23
Location:Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: newbie - can't get started adding stuff

Post by fgander » Sat May 23, 2009 12:52

hi

2 tables in the database ?
this is not good, it seem your installation failed... please try the manual one(perhaps you better see what failes...) , have a look at documentation, perhaps your mysql is not working correct with InnoDB?
have a look, i hope you get this running !

http://apps.sourceforge.net/mediawiki/n ... andline.29

regards fabian
F.G. - NConf developer
http://www.nconf.org
Image
Follow NConf on Twitter!

adajun
starter
starter
Posts:4
Joined:Fri May 22, 2009 18:59

Re: newbie - can't get started adding stuff

Post by adajun » Sun May 24, 2009 06:11

Cool, it's working now!
I think it was a problem with the create_database.sql file - it only had text that would create 2 tables - and it never threw an error when it ran. I originally gunzipped and untarred on solaris 9 sparc and it looked like it corrupted part of that file. So I used 7-zip on windows, then scp'd the file onto the solaris box and it's working now.

For other newbies, here's some debugging info.
I ran this command to see if the innodb engine is available (look for Support: YES)
mysql> SHOW ENGINES\G

*************************** 3. row ***************************
Engine: InnoDB
Support: YES
Comment: Supports transactions, row-level locking, and foreign keys



FYI - the two tables I saw when it wasn't working were
+-----------------+
| Tables_in_nconf |
+-----------------+
| ConfigAttrs |
| ConfigClasses |
+-----------------+
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)


Now that it's working, here are the tables
mysql> use nconf;
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Database changed
mysql> show tables;
+-----------------+
| Tables_in_nconf |
+-----------------+
| ConfigAttrs |
| ConfigClasses |
| ConfigItems |
| ConfigValues |
| History |
| ItemLinks |
+-----------------+
6 rows in set (0.00 sec)

thanks

adam

Locked